“Today”

By M

Today I am a survivor…
most days I am not fearful or anxious.

Today I am o.k….
most days I can enjoy the sunrise and sunset again.

Today I am alive…
most days I don’t feel suicidal anymore.

Today I am at peace…
most days the fire of rage does not consume me.

Today I can cry tears of joy…
most of my tears were because of all the pain I’ve experienced.

Today I can feel love for someone…
most days I don’t have to hide behind what’s left of my brick wall
and be afraid someone will hurt me again.

Today I can feel joy…
most days I don’t have to numb my feelings with alcohol, drugs and/or sex.

Today I am content…
most days I don’t feel I need to run away or escape from my life the way it was or is.

Today I feel a sense of achievement…
most days I don’t feel like I’m one big, huge failure.

Today I can be kind to people…
most days I feel I don’t have to snap at people for no reason.

Today I have patience…
most days I don’t feel I have to hurry this journey along and get it over with.

Today I have faith…
most days I feel I can keep going…keep walking through the valleys and climbing the mountains.

Today I have hope…
today I can see light instead of darkness…
today I can take a deep breath and keep going…
today I know God was and is always with me.

One thought on ““Today”

Leave a Reply

